



Die Nachfolgeorganisation der Lagergemeinschaft Mauthausen

Third Call for tender of the Hans Maršálek - Award

The Mauthausen Committee Austria and the Austrian Camp Community Mauthausen will endow the Hans Maršálek Award in 2021 in fulfilment of the legacy of the Austrian Camp Community Mauthausen for outstanding achievements in the fields of commemoration, remembrance and awareness raising.

The award is endowed with 4 prizes : 1. € 3.000,-; 2. € 2000.-; 3. € 1.000.-, special appreciation prize € 500.-. The deadline for submissions is 30 November 2020.

Extract from the preamble of the legacy: "As long as it is possible for us, we will fight to ensure that what happened to us will never happen again to another human being." The Austrian Camp Community Mauthausen (ÖLM) assigned this task to the Mauthausen Committee Austria (MKÖ) in the Austrian Parliament.

The Hans Maršálek - Award for outstanding achievements in the fields of commemoration, remembrance and awareness raising work was established in memory of Hans Maršálek on the occasion of his 100th birthday by the Mauthausen Committee Austria and the Austrian Camp Community Mauthausen in 2014.

Hans Maršálek was arrested by the National Socialists for resistance activities in 1941 and deported to the Mauthausen concentration camp in autumn 1942, where he witnessed the crimes committed in Mauthausen. After World War II, he built up the Mauthausen archive and the museum of the Mauthausen concentration camp memorial. He is the author of numerous publications and was also director of the Mauthausen concentration camp memorial for a long time. Over the past decades, Hans Maršálek has provided whole generations of researchers and students with his extensive knowledge about the Mauthausen concentration camp memorial. He was very active until the very end in the educational work about the crimes of the National Socialists and for a long time he was chairman of the Austrian Camp Community Mauthausen.

The objectives of the Hans Maršálek Award:

Youth - Innovation - Civic Courage

The award is intended to commemorate Hans Maršálek and to support projects that work in his spirit. Projects worthy of an award are scientific works as well as initiatives for youth and adult education and initiatives that have been carried out to locally anchor the issues of National Socialism, concentration camps, (anti-)racism and strengthening democracy.

Conferring the award

The group of potential award winners is very broadly defined, taking into account the comprehensive claim that Hans Maršálek himself always maintained as a maxim.





Die Nachfolgeorganisation der Lagergemeinschaft Mauthausen

The application is open in principle, without any age limit; it is supranational and non-denominational and open to all political groups committed to the principles of democracy, human rights and social justice. In the spirit of Hans Maršálek, this award is not only aimed at Austrian applicants, but the founders expressly welcome all international applicants.

Application

The prize can only be awarded <u>after</u> a successful completion of the submitted projects: it is not project financing for planned projects. Previously submitted projects which have not been awarded a prize are eligible. Eligible persons and initiatives can submit their own projects for the award; a nomination can also be made by third parties.

The prize is awarded every three years and is endowed with € 6.500,-. The awards will be presented to the winners in 2021.

The deadline for applications for the third *Hans Maršálek Award* is 30 November 2020, and the prizes will then be awarded at a festive ceremony in spring 2021.

The following jury will take the decisions about the award winners:

Jury:

- Dr. Irmgard Aschbauer, Chairwoman of Österreichische Lagergemeinschaft Mauthausen (ÖLM)
- Willi Mernyi, Chairman of Managing director Mauthausen Committee Austria (MKÖ)
- Christa Bauer, MAS, Managing director Mauthausen Committee Austria (MKÖ)
- Prof. Guy Dockendorf, Chair of Comité International de Mauthausen (CIM)
- Mag. Andreas Baumgartner, Secretary General of Comité International de Mauthausen (CIM)
- Univ.Prof. Dr. Peter Gstettner, Pedagogue
- Mag. Dr. Florian Wenninger, Historian
- MMag. Dr. Dr.Martin Krenn, LL.M. MA, Deputy Federal Chair KZ-Verband
- Claudia Prutscher, Vice-Chair Jewish Community Vienna
- Klaus Schöngruber, Representative Austrian National Youth Council (BJV)
- a personality of the media sector

<u>Jury Chair:</u> Helmut Edelmayr, Founding Member of *Mauthausen Komitee Österreich* and board member of *Österreichische Lagergemeinschaft Mauthausen*

Informations and application form: www.mkoe.at

For more information please contact: Jury Chair: Tel.:+43 664 330 3136

Mauthausen Komitee Österreich, Obere Donaustraße 97-99,/4/5, 1020 Wien,

e-mail: info@mkoe.at

Person in charge of the application: Helmut Edelmayr